Mahathir and supporters no longer with Pakatan

Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad

Written by TheMole

PETALING JAYA — July 10, 2020: Former prime minister Tun Dr. Mahathir Mohamad and five members of parliaments aligned to him today announced themselves as an independent bloc.

In a joint statement, they said the decision followed Pakatan Harapan’s decision earlier this week to support PKR president Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim as the opposition’s prime minister candidate.

They also insisted on an earlier choice announced by Mahathir to name Warisan president and Sabah Chief Minister Datuk Seri Shafie Apdal for the post.

The group further insists on pushing for a motion of no confidence in parliament against Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin.

The others in Mahathir’s group are his son Datuk Seri Mukhriz (MP for Jerlun, Syed Saddiq Syed Abdul Rahman (Muar), Maszlee Malik (Simpang Renggam), Datuk Amiruddin Hamzah (Kubang Pasu) and Datuk Shahruddin Md Salleh (Sri Gading).



About the author