BN scores overwhelming victory in Chini

Mohd Sharim Md Zain

Written by TheMole

PEKAN, July 4, 2020: Barisan Nasional (BN) today scored an overwhelming victory in the Chini state by-election.

The coalition recorded 12,650 majority votes, which is almost three times more than its victory in the constituency during the last general election in 2018.

Its candidate Mohd Sharim Md Zain secured 13,872 votes to defeat his opponents; two independent candidates, Tengku Datuk Zainal Hisham Tengku Hussin, who only managed 1,222 and 137 votes respectively.

There was a total of 239 spoilt votes.

Voter turnout was at 73 per cent, which was higher than the expected 70 per cent.

The result was announced by the Election Commission (EC) returning officer Datuk Zaliza Zulkifli at the Paloh Hinai National Youth Skills Institute (IKBN) vote tallying centre at 9pm.

Mohd Sharim was accompanied there by Pahang BN chairman Datuk Seri Wan Rosdy Wan Ismail, Umno president Datuk Seri Dr Ahmad Zahid Hamidi and Pekan member of parliament Datuk Seri Najib Razak.

The Chini state assembly seat fell vacant following the death of Datuk Seri Abu Bakar Harun, who died from a heart attack on May 6.

Abu Bakar had won the Chini state seat in the last general election after securing 10,027 votes to beat Pas’ Mohd Fadhil Noor Abdul Karim (5,405 votes), and PKR’s Mohamad Razali Ithnain (1,065 votes).



About the author