Wee Ka Siong is MCA’s new president

Datuk Seri Wee Ka Siong

Syndicated News
Written by Syndicated News

KUALA LUMPUR — Nov. 5, 2018: As widely anticipated, Datuk Seri Wee Ka Siong has won handsomely the contest to become the Malaysian Chinese Association’s new president, trouncing the other two contenders.

According to Bernama, Wee polled 447 votes to defeat Gan Ping Sieu, who 182, and Ngoo Teck Keong, who received none.

With this success, Wee, the sole Chinese political party’s MP, becomes its 11th president.  MCA was foundered in 1949.

His ally, Datuk Dr. Mah Hang Soon, becomes the deputy president after beating Datuk Tee Siew Keong by 428 votes against 201.

The results were announced at 1am at Wisma MCA by the party’s chief administrative director Lim Chin Hai.

The four newly elected vice-presidents are Datuk Lim Ban Hong, Datuk Tan Teik Cheng, Datuk Seri Ti Lian Ker and Datuk Yew Teong Look. 

Voters turnout was 66.27 per cent or 21,468 of the 32,397 delegates eligible to vote. Also decided were 25 members of the central committee. 



About the author

Syndicated News

Syndicated News

News sourced from Bernama, Reuters, AFP and other accredited news agencies, including credible blogsites and news portals.