Sabah election: Anifah’s PCS leads the pack to contest 70 seats; Warisan 54; Umno 31

Written by TheMole

KOTA KINABALU — Sept. 10, 2020: It should one heck of a contest in the Sabah state election scheduled for later this month, as the main contenders today announced the seats they plan to contesttheir line-up of candidates.

The Panti Cinta Sabah led by former federal minister Datuk Seri Anifah Aman will contest 70 of the 73 seats, with the leader himself contesting in Bongawan.

Warisan, under the leadership of Chief Minister Datuk Seri Shafie Apdal will put candidates in 54 seats while Umno is placing its hopes in 31 seats.

Among the Warisan candidates are former federal ministers Datuk Darell Leiking and Datuk Mohamaddin Ketapi.

Seven DAP candidates and another from Amanah will contest under Warisan.

The notable names missing from Umno’s list are former chief minister Tan Sri Musa Aman, whose two suits relating to political oints of contenntion, are before the courts and former federal minister Datuk Seri Abdul Rahman Dahlan.

However another former federal minister, Datuk Seri Salleh Said Keruak, will contest in Usukan.

United Progressive Kinabalu Organisation (Upko) president Wilfred Madius Tangau announced that his party will field 12 candidates while PKR, which previously contested 14 seats, will this time have candidates only in seven areas.

United Progressive Kinabalu Organisation (Upko) president Datuk Seri Wilfred Madius Tangau said his party will be fielding 12 candidates in the state election. only in seven areas.



About the author