UTP wins gold, special award at ITEX 2018

Syndicated News
Written by Syndicated News

KUALA LUMPUR, May 18 2018 : Universiti Teknologi Petronas (UTP) continues to demonstrate excellence in research and innovation when it won 7 gold and 6 silver medals at the International Invention, Innovation and Technology Exhibition (ITEX) 2018, held at the Kuala Lumpur Convention Centre recently.

UTP also bagged the IENA 2018 Special Prize award at the event which featured more than 1,000 inventions from 23 countries.

In a statement today, UTP said the accomplishment was another significant step towards its ultimate goal of becoming an internationally-recognised research university.

It said the awards not only contributed towards the university´s list of inventions and innovations, but also provide opportunities for the commercialisation of UTP´s new products and ideas.

“The achievement is testimony to the university’s commitment for continual progress and advancement,” UTP said.

UTP’s gold medalists include Mohd Syaifuddin Mohd who bagged the IENA 2018 Special Prize award for his invention involving Solar Powered System for Interior Temperature Regulation of Parked Vehicles; Professor Dr Suzana Yusup for her invention involving CO2-Assisted Hydrothermal Liquefaction of Biomass for Phenolic-rich Bio-oil Production; Associate Professor Dr Bashar S Mohammed for his Geopolymer Interlocking Rubberised Bricks; Associate Professor Ir Dr Masri Baharom for his Single-cylinder Air-cooled Gasoline Crank-Rocker Engine; Associate Professor Dr Khamaruzaman Wan Yusof for his OFAM-B MODULE Optimised Flow Attenuation Module in BIOECODS for Flood Mitigation; Associate Professor Dr Zahiraniza Mustaffa for her invention on Smart Application for Vehicles Stability in Floodwaters; and Dr. Cheab Sovuthy for his Microwave Multiband Filter (uMF).

Meanwhile, UTP academics who garnered the silver awards includes Associate Professor Ir Dr Hisham Mohamad for his Smart Geo-Pipe; Associate Professor Dr Aamir Saeed Malik for his EEG based Long-Term Memory Grading System; Associate Professor Dr Wong Peng Wen for his Chained-Function Waveguide Filter for 5G and Beyond; Associate Professor Dr Bawadi Abdullah for Ceria Code; Dr Lavania Baloo for her Seaweed as Biocomposite in Green Construction Material; and Dr Mohamed Shuaib Mohamed Saheed for his Hybrid PDMS-CNT Absorbent for Oil Spill Clean Up. – Bernama



About the author

Syndicated News

Syndicated News

News sourced from Bernama, Reuters, AFP and other accredited news agencies, including credible blogsites and news portals.