Rafizi sees transition from Dr M to Anwar as one of consensus

Rafizi Ramli

Rafizi Ramli

Syndicated News
Written by Syndicated News

TAWAU, Aug 19 2018 : The hand over of the prime ministership from Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad to Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) president is a question of consensus reached within Pakatan Harapan.

PKR vice-president Rafizi Ramli said the matter would be carried out similar to Dr Mahathir’s selection as the seventh prime minister. 

“The matter (transition of power) will be brought to Pakatan Harapan Presidential Council and it is just that the people agreed the seventh prime minister would be Tun M while the eighth prime minister is Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim.

“The period and timing for the transition will be discussed at the council,” he said when met by reporters after a Reformation Talk (Bicara Reformasi) here last night.

  According to Rafizi, the transition of power will be resolved wisely as shown in the consensus reached with the party leadership of Tun M (Bersatu), Anwar (PKR) and Datuk Mohd Shafie Apdal (Parti Warisan Sabah) which brought victory in the 14th general election (GE14).

Meanwhile, on Sabah, Rafizi said the state needed special attention on rights and development as the second largest state in Malaysia.

“I will stay in Sabah to assist the Warisan-Pakatan Harapan government to strengthen its win in the 15th general election,” said Rafizi who was barred from going to Sabah during GE14.

He said discussion on the development agenda as well as the rights of Sabah should begin now so that the assistance to the state could be channelled accordingly.

“I am am more familiar with the politics and economy of Sabah compared to other states in Peninsular Malaysia as I have involved in several Petronas projects among them in Kimanis and Petronas Methanol Labuan,” he said.     

In the party election, Rafizi is facing incumbent Datuk Seri Azmin Ali for the deputy president post.  – Bernama



About the author

Syndicated News

Syndicated News

News sourced from Bernama, Reuters, AFP and other accredited news agencies, including credible blogsites and news portals.