Commentary Lifestyle

The latest WhatsApp updates

wa updates1

TheMole
Written by TheMole
    • By Dave Avran
      WhatsApp has launched a new feature that lets contacts track one another in real time. The messaging app has announced its live location tracking feature which will allow users to share their movements if they’re trying to find their friends or let them know they’re safe.
       
      The feature, which WhatsApp says is encrypted, asks users to set a time limit on how long their location is shared for and lets them stop doing so at any time.
       
      Whether you’re meeting up with friends, letting loved ones know you’re safe, or sharing your commute, live location is a simple and secure way to let people know where you are.
       
      Despite the safeguards the app has put in place, it could lead to concerns that people could be encouraged to share where they are. The update follows a row over Snapchat’s Map, which reveals users’ locations.
       
      Unlike the Snapchat feature,WhatsApp users can only share their position temporarily and with certain contacts.
       
      How it works:
      1 — Open a message with the person or people you want to share your location with
      2 — Press the plus button in the bottom right hand corner and select location
      3 — There will be a new option here to “Share Live Location”
      4 — Select how long you would like to share your location for
      5 — Hit send
       
      The live location will appear on your receiver’s screens as a map. More than one person within a group can share their location and all will appear as icons on the map.
       
      The Facebook-owned messaging service has also added the ability to recall and edit sent messages that haven’t been read. This could ease the minds of people who panic after mistakenly sending texts.
       
      Delete for all feature:
      Ever get that sinking feeling when you realise you’ve just fired off an angry or saucy WhatsApp message to the wrong person? Well, fear no more because WhatsApp’s newest feature could spare you the blushes.
       
      The messaging app has launched its “delete for everyone” feature and it works like a bomb. You are now able to delete messages sent to one person or a group. But it’s not fool-proof. You only have seven minutes to delete your embarrassing messages after being sent.
       
      Also, once a message has been deleted the recipient will be notified so they’ll know you were trying to save face. They just won’t know why. The feature works when sending text, voice notes, videos or photos.
       
      You will need to upgrade and get the latest version of WhatsApp for it to work though.
       
    • Here’s how to delete a message:
      Tap and hold the message you want to delete, then choose “delete” from the menu.
      You can delete multiple messages at once. You must then choose “delete for everyone” in order for others not to see your message.
       
      WhatsApp has warned that the messages won’t always be revoked and you are still in danger of being mortally embarrassed. Recipients may see your message before it’s deleted or if deletion was not successful. You will not be notified if deleting for everyone was not successful, their FAQ reads.

Comments

comments

About the author

TheMole

TheMole