Shafie sworn in as Sabah CM

Datuk Seri Shafie Apdal

Datuk Seri Shafie Apdal

Syndicated News
Written by Syndicated News

KOTA KINABALU, May 12 2018 : Parti Warisan Sabah (Warisan) president Datuk Seri Mohd Shafie Apdal was today sworn in as the 15th Chief Minister of Sabah at Istana Negeri here, replacing the government of the Barisan Nasional (BN) and Parti Solidarity Tanah Airku (Star) coalition of Tan Sri Musa Aman within 48 hours after the latter lost a simple majority.

Mohd  Shafie was appointed as the Chief Minister after his party obtained a simple majority of 35 seats when six BN state assemblymen from UMNO (four) and UPKO (two) defected to Warisan.

He was sworn in before Sabah Head of State, Tun Juhar Mahiruddin at 9.11pm and signed the credentials of appointment as chief minister, witnessed by Chief Justice of Sabah and Sarawak Tan Sri Richard Malanjum.

On the night of May 10, Musa, who is also Sabah UMNO Liaison chief, was sworn in as the chief minister.

Also sworn in on the same night were STAR president Datuk Dr Jeffrey Kitingan as deputy chief minister, besides two deputy chief ministers and seven full ministers.

 In the 14th General Election (GE14), Warisan won 21 state seats, while its partners from Pakatan Harapan (PH), the DAP, won six seats and Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR)  two seats.

However, the 29 state seats obtained by Warisan and its political partners in PH had yet to reach a simple majority to allow the party to form a government, thus needing additional seats.

Following the move by six BN assemblymen in crossing over to Warisan, it now has 35 seats, enough to form a simple majority government. – Bernama



About the author

Syndicated News

Syndicated News

News sourced from Bernama, Reuters, AFP and other accredited news agencies, including credible blogsites and news portals.