Shafie’s motion of confidence on Mahathir rejected

Datuk Seri Mohd Shafie Apdal and Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad.

Written by TheMole

KUALA LUMPUR, May 7 2020: Dewan Rakyat speaker Tan Sri Mohamad Ariff Md. Yusof has rejected a motion for Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad to form the government when parliament reconvenes for a one-day sitting on May 18.

The motion was rejected because it contradicts Article 43 of the federal Constitution which essentially disallows the parliament to question the Yang di-Pertuan Agong’s powers to appoint a prime minister.

“As such I cannot allow this motion to be brought into parliament,” said Ariff in a letter to the motion’s proposer, Semporna MP Datuk Seri Shafie Apdal, who is also Sabah chief minister.

A copy of Shafie’s letter had gone viral on social media today.

Mahathir resigned as PM in February after the Pakatan Harapan government collapsed following a decision by Pribumi Bersatu, which he chairs, to pull out of the coalition.

The party’s president Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin was then appointed PM by the King.

Dewan Rakyat secretary Riduan Rahmat informed MPs that the one-day sitting on May 18 is only for the official opening and will not entertain any motions, except for government matters related to the Covid-19 outbreak.



About the author