Semenyih by-election — 50 per cent voter turnout at 1pm

Syndicated News
Written by Syndicated News

SEMENYIH, March 2 2019 : Polling in the Semenyih state by-election in Selangor began at 8am today with 53,411 people eligibile to cast their ballots.

It involves 24 polling centres that open until 5.30 pm.

The by-election is being held following the death of incumbent Pakatan Harapan (PH) assemblyman, Bakhtiar Mohd Nor, on Jan 11.

The Semenyih by-election is a four-cornered contest among Muhammad Aiman Zainali of PH, Zakaria Hanafi (Barisan Nasional)(BN), Nik Aziz Afiq Abdul (Parti Sosialis Malaysia)(PSM) and an independent candidate, Kuan Chee Heng.

Following are the latest developments relating to the voting process:

1.25 pm – 50 per cent voter turnout as at 1 pm – EC

1.20 pm – Election watchdog Bersih 2.0 lodges police report over alleged breaches of election rules

12.30 pm – Lower number of voters at several polling centres at around noon

12.25 pm – 44 per cent voter turnout as at noon – EC

11.45 am – EC personnel orders party volunteers to remove a provocative banner in Kampung Sesapan Batu Rembau

11.20 am – Kajang police chief Ahmad Dzaffir Mohd Yusoff says polling in Semenyih by-election proceeding smoothly, traffic congestion reported in some areas

11.16 am – Visually impaired and wheelchair-bound Chandara Segar Velayutham, 45, casts his vote at SMK Bandar Rinching

10.40 am – EC chairman Azhar Azizan Harun monitors voting process at Sekolah Rendah Agama Batu Tiga.

– People taking advantage of fair weather in Semenyih this morning to cast their ballots to pick new assemblyman

10.25 am – 28 per cent voter turnout as at 10 am

10.15 am – Information Department mobile units making their rounds in Semenyih urging constituents to go out and vote

9.31 am – Kajang district police chief Ahmad Dzaffir Mohd Yusoff visits Semenyih Community Hall voting centre

9.18 am – EC chairman Azhar Azizan Harun monitors voting process at SMK Bandar Seri Putra

9.00 am – 15 per cent voter turnout as at 9 am in Semenyih by-election – EC

8.25 am – PH candidate Muhammad Aiman Zainali votes at SMK Engku Husain, Kampung Baru Semenyih

8.10 am – BN’s Zakaria Hanafi votes at JKKK Kampung Sesapan Kelubi

8.07 am – PSM’s Nik Aziz Afiq Abdul votes at Semenyih Community Hall



About the author

Syndicated News

Syndicated News

News sourced from Bernama, Reuters, AFP and other accredited news agencies, including credible blogsites and news portals.