Semantan-Kajang MRT line to begin July 17


Syndicated News
Written by Syndicated News

PUTRAJAYA — June 8, 2017: The second phase of the Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) SBK Line between Semantan and Kajang will begin on July 17.

This will complete the 51-kilometre MRT SBK Line that connects to Sungai Buloh. The first phase from Sungai Buloh to Semantan with 12 stations began operations on December 16.

“Through both phases of the MRT SBK Line, the government expects this service to benefit more than 500,000 commuters daily,” said Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak who will launch the second phase.

The second phase has 19 stations and will pass through highly-populated areas including Cheras and Kajang and popular tourist destinations like the National Museum and Central Market.

Seven of the line’s 31 stations are underground.

Each train has four cars, allowing a passenger capacity of 1,200, with a frequency of 3.5 minutes between trains. — Bernama



About the author

Syndicated News

Syndicated News

News sourced from Bernama, Reuters, AFP and other accredited news agencies, including credible blogsites and news portals.