Rulers scheduled to elect new King tomorrow

Syndicated News
Written by Syndicated News

KUALA LUMPUR — Jan. 23, 2019: The nine Malay Rulers are scheduled to meet tomorrow to elect the new Yang di-Pertuan Agong and Timbalan (deputy) to rule for the next five years.

The 15th Yang di-Pertuan Agong, Sultan Muhammad V, who is the Sultan of Kelantan, stepped down as the King on January 6.

In accordance with Section 2 of the Third Schedule of the federal Constitution, the Rulers shall offer the office of the Yang di-Pertuan Agong to the Ruler qualified for election and whose state is first on the election list.

The first rotational list of the appointment of the Yang di-Pertuan Agong was made with the consent of the Rulers according to seniority in terms of the period of their reign in the following order: Negri Sembilan, Selangor, Perlis, Terengganu, Kedah, Kelantan, Pahang, Johor and Perak.

Only the Malay Rulers, the Keeper of the Rulers’ Seal and the assistant secretary of the Conference of Rulers will be present during the election.

According to the official website of the Keeper of the Rulers’ Seal, he will provide one ballot paper to each Ruler who will have to state whether the most senior Ruler is suitable/unsuitable to be elected. The candidate must obtain a majority of five votes to be considered.

If the successful Ruler does not accept the offer or if he fails to obtain the required number of votes, the process will be repeated, with the Ruler whose name appears second in the list as the candidate. The process will only be completed after a Ruler accepts the office. — Bernama




About the author

Syndicated News

Syndicated News

News sourced from Bernama, Reuters, AFP and other accredited news agencies, including credible blogsites and news portals.