Record of all seats to be contested in Singapore election

The results from one poll conducted last year. (Infographic from Blackbox Research).

Syndicated News
Written by Syndicated News

SINGAPORE — September 1, 2015: For the first time since Singapore’s independence in 1965 all 89 seats in 29 electoral divisions will be contested during the general election on September 11.

The electoral divisions comprise 16 Group Representation Constituencies (GRC) and 13 Single Member Constituencies (SMC).

Together with the ruling People’s Action Party, the eight other parties contesting are the Workers Party (WP), Singapore People’s Party (SPP), Singapore Democratic Party (SDP), National Solidarity Party (NSP), Singapore Democratic Alliance (SDA), Reform Party (RP), Singaporeans First (SF) and People’s Power Party (PPP).

Nominations that closed today show that there will be three-cornered fights in three SMCs, namely Radin Mas, Bukit Batok and MacPherson.

GE2015 is the republic’s first general election after the demise of its founding prime minister Lee Kuan Yew last March and will be the third for Prime Minister and current PAP secretary-general Lee Hsien Loong, son of Kuan Yew.

Candidates from all the parties submitted their papers at nine centres by the time nominations closed at noon.

Of the 89 PAP candidates, 22 are new faces – 14 from the private sector, six from the public sector and two from non-governmental organisations.

In addressing supporters at the nomination centre at Raffles Institution, PM Lee, who is defending his Ang Mo Kio GRC seat, asked the people to vote seriously for the PAP.

“This (election) is about your future. Vote seriously for the PAP to make sure that we can work together with you, for you, for Singapore,” he said.

M. Ravi of the Reform Party is standing against Lee.

WP chief Low Thia Khiang told reporters: “We hope this election will make people aware of their future and what they should decide for themselves.”

The last general election, in 2011, saw contests in 82 of the then total 87 seats. PAP won uncontested in the five-member Tanjong Pagar GRC, led by the late Kuan Yew. — Bernama



About the author

Syndicated News

Syndicated News

News sourced from Bernama, Reuters, AFP and other accredited news agencies, including credible blogsites and news portals.