Pribumi Bersatu announces leadership line-up


Zaidi Azmi
Written by Zaidi Azmi

KUALA LUMPUR – November 2, 2016: Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia today unveiled its full leadership line-up, comprising some prominent figures known to be staunch critics of Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak.

The majority of those listed in the line-up are former Umno leaders and members and even a former Umno-friendly journalist in Datuk A. Kadir Jasin, many years ago the New Straits Times Group group editor-in-chief.

The announcement was made at the Perdana Leadership Foundation in Putrajaya after a meeting to appoint and elect the party’s 15 supreme council members.

Despite the dominant presence of former Umno leaders, party president Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin was quick to assert that Pribumi Bersatu is not a reflection of Umno.

“We have a lot of youths who were never interested in politics joining us,” said Muhyiddin at a press conference.

“But we cannot deny that there are a lot of Umno members who have joined us. They did so because they can no longer accept Najib’s leadership and the corruption in Umno,” he claimed.

This is the full list:

Chairman: Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad

President: Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin

Deputy president: Datuk Seri Mukhriz Mahathir

Vice-presidents: 1 — Tan Sri Rashid Abdul Rahman (Former election commission chairman); 2: Datuk Abdul Rashid Asari; 3: Datuk Hamidah Osman (Former Umno Wanita information chief)

Srikandi (Women’s) chief: Anina Saadudin (Former Langkawi Puteri Umno member)

Youth chief: Syed Saddiq Syed Abdul Rahman (Student activitist)

Secretary-general: Datuk Dr. Shahruddin Md. Salleh (Former Pagoh Umno deputy division chief and Jorak assemblyman)

Treasurer: Datuk Mohd. Salleh Bajuri

Information chief: Datuk Kamaruddin Mohd. Nor (Former Umno Pasir Puteh division chief and Semerak assemblyman)

Appointed supreme council members: Kamarulazman Habibur Rahman, Akramsyah Muammar Ubaidah Sanusi, Mohd. Rafiq Naizamohideen, Mohd. Redzuan Md. Yusof, Datuk Dr. Rais Hussin Mohamed Arif

Elected SCouncil members: Datuk A. Kadir Bin Jasin, Muhammad Zahid Mat Arip, Datuk Nordin Salleh, Marzuki Yahya, Tan Sri Abd. Aziz Yassin, Ahmad Faizal Azumu, Tariq Ismail Mustafa, Datuk Dr. Sukiman Sarmani, Hazlinda Abd. Latif, Najwah Halimah Abd. Halim, Ulya Awamah Husamuddin, Dr. Muhammad Faiz Na’aman, Abu Bakar Yahya and Wan Mohd. Shahrir Abd. Jalil.



About the author

Zaidi Azmi

Zaidi Azmi

If Zaidi Azmi isn’t busy finding his way in the city, this 26-year-old northern kampung boy can be found struggling to make sense of the Malaysian political scene. Zaidi can be reached at [email protected]