PKR retains Sungai Kandis, majority reduced by half

Mohd Zawawi Ahmad Mughni

Mohd Zawawi Ahmad Mughni

Syndicated News
Written by Syndicated News

SHAH ALAM, Aug 4 2018 : PKR retained the Sungai Kandis state seat in the by-election for the constituency with a majority of 5,842 votes.

PKR candidate Mohd Zawawi Ahmad Mughni polled 15,427 votes while Barisan Nasional (BN) candidate Datuk Lokman Noor Adam obtained 9,585 votes while independent candidate K. Murthy only managed to get 97 votes.

Mohd Zawawi, 48, received a lower majority compared to the of 12,480 obtained by former state assemblyman for the constituency, the late Mat Shuhaimi Shafiei in the 14th General Election (GE14).

The result was announced by returning officer Datuk Ahmad Zaharin Mohd Saad at 9.25 pm at the official vote counting centre at the Dewan Besar Tanjung, Shah Alam City Council in Section 19, here.

The Sungai Kandis by-election was the first by-election to be held after the GE14, due to the death of Mat Shuhaimi due to lymphoma cancer on July 2.

In the GE14, the late Mat Shuhaimi retained the seat he had held for the third term when he polled 23,998 votes to beat BN candidate Datuk Kamaruzzaman Johari (11,518), Pas candidate Mohd Yusof Abdullah (7,573) and Parti Rakyat Malaysia candidate, Hanafiah Husin (76).

Ahmad Zaharin when announcing the result said the number of ballots rejected was 173 and the percentage of voters who turned up to cast their ballots was 49.4 per cent.

“I hereby announce that Mohd Zawawi Ahmad Mughni from PKR has been voted as the state assemblyman for N49 Sungai Kandis,” he said.

In the last GE, the Election Commission also issued 59 postal ballots with Mohd Zawawi obtaining 18 votes while Lokman received 15 votes and Murthy did not obtain any vote. Also, 21 ballot papers were not returned and five were rejected.

The number of voters who turned up to vote today was 25,303 out of 51,217 registered voters in the Sungai Kandis State constituency. – Bernama



About the author

Syndicated News

Syndicated News

News sourced from Bernama, Reuters, AFP and other accredited news agencies, including credible blogsites and news portals.