Parliament dissolves tomorrow

Syndicated News
Written by Syndicated News

PUTRAJAYA — April 6, 2018: Parliament is to be dissolved tomorrow to allow for the 14th general elections to be held, most likely at the end of this month or in early May.

Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak announced the dissolution here today.

“I wish to inform all Malaysians that I have had an audience with the 15th Yang di-Pertuan Agong, Sultan Muhammad V, and sought the consent of His Majesty to have the 13th Parliament dissolved on Saturday April 7,” he said.

The announcement was broadcast live on television and Najib’s official Facebook page. Present at the announcement were Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Zahid Hamidi and Cabinet ministers. 

A total of 14.9 million people are eligible to vote based on the electoral rolls as at the fourth quarter of 2017. The Election Commission will determine the dates for nomination and polling.

Najib also advised heads of the state governments to seek the consent of the Sultans and Yang Dipertua Negeri to have their respective state assemblies dissolved, except for Sarawak, so that the elections can be held simultaneously.

Barisan Nasional, which has ruled the country for six decades, is expected to face stiff competition from the Pakatan Harapan pact.

The mandate of the BN government expires on June 24. In accordance with Article 55 (4) of the federal Constitution, a general election must be held within 60 days after the dissolution of Parliament. A total of 222 parliamentary and 505 state seats are at stake.

Sarawak held its state election on May 7, 2016, when BN won a huge mandate through 72 of the 82 seats.

In GE13, BN won 133 parliamentary seats, DAP 38, PKR 30 and PAS 21.

At the time of the dissolution, BN holds 132 seats, DAP 36; PKR 28 and PAS 13; Parti Amanah Negara seven; Parti Warisan Sabah two, Parti Sosialis Malaysia and Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia one each. There are two Independents. —  Bernama



About the author

Syndicated News

Syndicated News

News sourced from Bernama, Reuters, AFP and other accredited news agencies, including credible blogsites and news portals.