Parliament accepts Mahathir’s motion of no confidence against Muhyiddin

Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad and Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin

Written by TheMole

KUALA LUMPUR — May 8, 2020: A motion of no confidence against Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin has been accepted by the Dewan Rakyat but it remains unclear if and when it will be tabled,.

A statement from Dewan Rakyat speaker Tan Sri Mohamad Ariff Md. Yusof did not specify this on the motion from former PM Tun Dr. Mahathir Mohamad, except that “it will be brought to the coming Dewan Rakyat meeting. Parliament is due to meet only for a day on May 18.

Ariff also confirmed receiving two motions on May 4 from Mahathir.

The first was under Standing Order 4 to make a ruling that the speaker remains until Parliament is dissolved while the second was under Standing Order 27 (3) that Muhyiddin does not command the majority of the house.

After scrutinising the explanations provided, he decided to reject the motion under Standing Order 4 as it did not fulfil the criteria.



About the author