Musa reappointed Sabah CM; new MB in Terengganu

Tan Sri Musa Aman

Tan Sri Musa Aman

Syndicated News
Written by Syndicated News

KOTA KINABALU — May 10, 2018: Tan Sri Musa Aman tonight took the oath of office as chief minister for a fourth term while also forming a new collaborative government with Parti Solidariti Tanah Airku (Star).

Musa took the oath before the Yang Dipertua Negeri Tun Juhar Mahiruddin at Istana Negeri at 11.08 pm. He signed the instrument of appointment witnessed by Sabah and Sarawak Chief Judge Tan Sri Richard Malanjum.

Ten others took their oath of office as members of the state Cabinet, including Star president Datuk Dr. Jeffrey Kitingan, who is also Tambunan assemblyman and Keningau member of parliament, as the deputy chief minister.

Also sworn in were assemblymen Datuk Masidi Manjun (Karanaan) and Datuk Haji Mohd. Noor (Sulaman) who were both retained as full ministers, while atuk Jahid Jahim (Tamparuli), who was previously an assistant minister was also made a full minister.

Six others who were assistant ministers have been appointed full ministers — Datuk Ellron Alfred Angin, Datuk Bolkiah Ismail, Datuk Bobbey Ahfang Suan, Datuk Masiung Banah, Datuk Musbah Jamli and Datuk Anita Baranting.

They were sworn in after BN and the Star party collaborated to reach a simple majority with 31 seats.

After the 14th general elections yesterday, Barisan Nasional obtained 29 seats but with the collaboration with Star was eligible to form the government.

In Kuala Terengganu, Rhu Rendang assemblyman Dr. Ahmad Samsuri Mokhtar today took his oath as the new Terengganu mentri besar.

He was sworn in before Sultan Mizan Zainal Abidin at Istana Syarqiyyah, Chendering, at 9.06pm.

The appointment of Samsuri followed the success of PAS in forming the state government after winning 22 of the 32 state saets in GE14.

At the ceremony, Sultan Mizan also apppointed 10 PAS assemblymen as state executive councillors.

They are the assemblymen for Paka, Saiful Bahari Mamat, Dr. Alias Razak of Bukit Tunggal, Mohd. Nor Hamzah of Bukit Payung, Dr. Azman Ibrahim of Jabi, Datuk Tengku Hassan Tengku Omar of Ladang, Ariffin Deraman of Alur Limbat, Hanafiah Mat of Chukai, Wan Sukairi Wan Abdullah of Wakaf Mempelam, Dr. Mamad Puteh of Kuala Berang and Mohd. Nurkhuzaini Ab Rahman of Kota Raja.

Samsuri was the head of the aerospace department at Universiti Putra Malaysia and attended Leeds University in England.

He told reporters that the new state government would set up a committee to ensure its 20 manifesto pledges are successfully implemented. — Bernama



About the author

Syndicated News

Syndicated News

News sourced from Bernama, Reuters, AFP and other accredited news agencies, including credible blogsites and news portals.