Muhyiddin: Mahathir lost party membership by sitting with opposition

Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad and Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin

Written by TheMole

KUALA LUMPUR — May 30 2020: Pribumi Bersatu president Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin has clarified that Tun Dr. Mahathir Mohamad and four other senior party leaders automatically lost their memberships when they chose to sit with opposition MPs during the May 18 session of the Dewan Rakyat. 

This means the five were not sacked, as reported by the press earlier.

In his statement today Muhyiddin also expressed disappointment with the decision by Mahathir to abandon the party’s agenda and made clear that the decision against the fiver was not hastily taken.

“Tun and his supporters have chosen to keep cooperating with Pakatan Harapan even though the party has decided otherwise. If that is Tun’s decision, I wish them well,” said the statement.

Pribumi Bersatu executive secretary Muhammad Suhaimi Yahya on Thursday informed Mahathir, deputy president Datuk Seri Mukhriz Mahathir, Youth chief Syed Saddiq Abdul Rahman, and supreme council members Datuk Amiruddin Hamzah and Maszlee Malik that their membership was terminated following their move to sit with the opposition MPs.

Mahathir and his followers are disputing the action against them, with the former prime minister insisting that he is still Pribumi Bersatu’s chairman and even went to his office yesterday and held a press conference.



About the author