MRT Sungai Buloh-Serdang-Putrajaya at 58.9 pct completion

Syndicated News
Written by Syndicated News

KUALA LUMPUR, Sept 20 2019 : The overall construction progress of the Mass Rapid Transit Sungai Buloh-Serdang-Putrajaya Line (MRT SSP Line) has reached 58.9 per cent completion as at Aug 31, says MMC Gamuda KVMRT (FDP SSP) Sdn Bhd.

Project manager for Work Package V205, Dr Tey Chun Yean said phase one from the Sungai Buloh Station to Kampung Batu Station would be completed by July 2021, while phase two from Kampung Batu Station to Putrajaya Sentral Station is slated to be operational by July 2022.

“The MRT Sungai Buloh–Kajang line and soon to be completed MRT SSP Line are great additions to the Klang Valley transportation system,” he told a media briefing on the method of construction for the MRT SSP Line.

Furthermore, he hopes the government would increase their spending on maintenance and public infrastructure projects to reduce the public’s dependence on personal mode of transportation.

He is hopeful that the government would consider the MRT Line 3 in the future, which would provide a circle system and improve connectivity for Klang Valley residence.

Meanwhile, he said long span erection methods were used in the construction of the MRT SSP Line, which cross the KL-Seremban Expressway, the Besraya Highway and the Middle Ring Road 2 (MRR2).

Deputy project director (Elevated Section), Amir Malik Faeiz said long spans are defined as spans that are above 40m in length and are typically used for crossing highways, railways or wide rivers.

“As the three long spans on the alignment at the location for the V205 work package stretch over busy throughways with space and accessibility constraints, we are employing three variations of the Balanced Cantilever (BC) method to ensure construction proceeds efficiently and with minimal impact,” he added.

Spanning 52.2km with a total of 35 stations to be constructed, the MRT SSP Line aims to serve a corridor with a population of around two million.

The line would connect Sri Damansara, Kepong, Jalan Sultan Azlan Shah, Jalan Tun Razak‚ KLCC, Kuchai Lama, Seri Kembangan and Cyberjaya. – Bernama



About the author

Syndicated News

Syndicated News

News sourced from Bernama, Reuters, AFP and other accredited news agencies, including credible blogsites and news portals.