Kedah exco, a balance between Pas and Pribumi Bersatu

Muhammad Sanusi Md Nor

Written by TheMole

ALOR SETAR, May 20 2020: Kedah Menteri Besar Muhammad Sanusi Md Nor today announced his 10-member state executive council with four from PAS, three from Pribumi Bersatu, two independents and one from Umno.

Sanusi will chair the committees for economic planning, town planning, land matters, earth and natural resources, finance, the Kedah Economic Council and state government-linked companies committee.

Former PKR assemblyman Robert Ling, who is now the Sidam independent assemblyman will handle the housing, environment, unity, Chinese and Siamese community portfolio.

Another PKR assemblyman turned independent Azman Nasrudin of Lunas will head the agriculture and food industries, farming and commodities industry, transport and Indian affairs portfolio.

Azman was an exco member under former menteri besar Datuk Seri Mukhriz Mahathir, holding the portfolio for primary industries, agriculture and transport.

Other former exco members reinstated under Sanusi are Pribumi Bersatu’s Halimaton Shaadiah Saad and Firdaus Ahmad.

Halimaton will continue holding the portfolio for women, family, community development and welfare, while Firdaus has been appointed as committee chairman for youth and sports; tourism, arts and culture; and entrepreneur development and cooperatives.

Two former exco members from the earlier 2013-2018 term were also reappointed. They are Datuk Ku Rahman Ku Ismail, who switched from Umno to Pribumi Bersatu in 2018, and Datuk Suraya Yaacob who remained in Umno.

Rahman will hold the portfolios of science, technology and innovation, industries and investment, and higher education while Suraya will hold the works, energy, and water resources portfolio.

The other PAS assemblymen in the exco line-up are Datuk Mohd Hayati Othman (local government and health), Siti Ashah Ghazali (rural development, human development and poverty eradication), Najmi Ahmad (religious affairs, education and human resources) and Wan Romani Wan Salim (information, communication and multimedia and consumer affairs and trade).

Of the 23 Perikatan Nasional (PN) members in the 36-member assembly, 15 are from PAS, four from Pribumi Bersatu and two from Umno and two independents.



About the author