Half of new Melaka executive councillors from DAP

Newly appointed Melaka Chief Minister Adly Zahari shakes hand with Yang Di-Pertua Negeri Melaka

Syndicated News
Written by Syndicated News

MELAKA, May 16 2018 : Ten Melaka state executive councillors, one of them a woman, took their oath of office before Melaka Yang Dipertua Negeri Tun Dr Mohd Khalil Yaakob at Dewan Seri Negeri in Ayer Keroh here today.

Five of the councillors are from DAP, two from PKR including the woman councillor Ginie Lim Siew Lin, two from PPBM and one from Amanah.

The DAP councillors are DAP Melaka chairman Tey Kok Kiew (Bandar Hilir assemblyman); DAP Melaka deputy chairman Norhizam Hassan Baktee (Pengkalan Batu); DAP Melaka vice-chairman G. Saminathan (Gadek); DAP Melaka treasurer Low Chee Leong (Kota Laksamana) and political secretary to DAP senior leader Lim Kit Siang, Kerk Chee Yee (Ayer Keroh). 

The two PKR councillors are Muhammad Jailani Khamis (Rembia) and Siew Lin (Machap Jaya). The PPBM councillors are PPBM Supreme Council member Mohd Rafiq Naizamohideen (Paya Rumput) and Fendi Ahmad (Telok Mas). The Amanah councillor is Amanah Melaka deputy chairman Mohd Sofi Abdul Wahab (Durian Tunggal).

Melaka Chief Minister Adly Zahari, who is also Pakatan Harapan (PH) Melaka chairman, Melaka Amanah chairman and the assemblyman for Bukit Katil, took his oath of office as the chief minister last Friday following the PH victory in the general election on May 9.

PH won 15 seats in the 28-seat Melaka legislative assembly, with DAP securing eight, PKR three, PPBM two and Amanah two. – Bernama




About the author

Syndicated News

Syndicated News

News sourced from Bernama, Reuters, AFP and other accredited news agencies, including credible blogsites and news portals.