GBS replaces BN in Sabah

The GBS leadership

Syndicated News
Written by Syndicated News

KOTA KINABALU, Oct 25 2018 : Gabungan Bersatu Sabah (GBS), a coalition of four political parties – PBS, Umno,  STAR and  PBRS – officially took off yesterday with PBS  president Tan Sri Joseph Pairin Kitingan as its interim chairman.

PBS, Umno and PBRS were former component parties of the Barisan Nasional which lost in the 14th general election on May 9 after being in power for 61 years in the country. With the formation of GBS, the BN in  Sabah is officially dead.

PBS deputy president Datuk Seri Dr Maximus Ongkili, Sabah Umno chairman Datuk Seri Hajiji Noor,  STAR president Datuk Dr Jeffrey Kitingan, PBRS  president Tan Sri Joseph Kurup and Kimanis MP (Independent)  and former Foreign Minister Datuk Seri Anifah Aman were appointed deputy chairmen.

Former Sabah Tourism, Culture and Environment Minister Datuk Seri Masidi Manjun, former Communication and Multimedia Minister Datuk Seri Dr Salleh Said Keruak and Kiulu assemblyman Datuk Johniston Bangkuai were appointed interim secretary-general, treasurer and information chief while all elected representatives of the four parties were automatically made GBS committee members.

Pairin in announcing the formation  of GBS at a media conference here, said it was formed to meet the aspirations of the people who were hungry for change following the changed political landscape in the state with the era of the previous regime (Barisan Nasional) having ended.

He added that the new coalition would seek registration with the Registrar of Societies and would also give its full cooperation to the Pakatan Harapan-led federal government in the interest of the New Malaysia and Sabah.

Meanwhile, Masidi said the leaders had reached  a consensus that all the heads of the parties would be made joint  chairmen under the next phase while Pairin and   former Sabah chief minister and former Sabah BN chairman Tan Sri Musa Aman will be advisors.

With the new development, GBS controls 21 seats in the 60-seat state assembly and 10 (seats) in the 222-seat Dewan  Rakyat . – Bernama



About the author

Syndicated News

Syndicated News

News sourced from Bernama, Reuters, AFP and other accredited news agencies, including credible blogsites and news portals.