PSM shocked with PKR’s Semenyih candidacy


PSM shocked with PKR’s Semenyih candidacy

PSM shocked with PKR’s Semenyih candidacy

Monday, April 15, 2013
  • PSM v PKR
Will the tussle over Semenyih state seat affect PSM and PKR's ties? (Graphic by Dayang Norazhar/ The Mole)

KUALA LUMPUR: Parti Sosialis Malaysia (PSM) it is unacceptable for Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) move to announce its candidacy in Semenyih when it has been agreed that it would go to a PSM candidate who will contest using PKR’s logo.


PSM also suspects that PKR is also preparing to field its candidate in Sungai Siput when it has also been agreed that PSM’s Dr D. Michael Jeyakumar, the incumbent MP, will be defending it.


Its secretary general S. Arutchelvan in a press statement to The Mole said: “We were shocked to learn that Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim has already announced the Semenyih candidate.”


“This decision was made in spite of PSM agreeing to stand under PKR logo in Semenyih. The Kota Damansara seat has not been announced pending negotiation with PSM. We also hear that PKR has also prepared a parachute candidate to stand in Sungai Siput,” he added.


In announcing Selangor’s candidacy list on Sunday night, Anwar had announced Hamidi A Hassan as PKR’s candidate for Semenyih.


Arutchelvan said the party will hold an emergency meeting to discuss its relationship with the Pakatan Rakyat coalition and current development of Pakatan and PSM involved in three-cornered fight in the three seats.


Arutchelvan said: “PSM wants to stand in the same seats it contested in 2008 so as to maintain the status quo. The three seats stood by PSM in 2008 under PKR – Sg. Siput, Kota Damansara and Semenyih has never been contested by any PKR members before this. Therefore to claim that these are PKR seats and PSM is three-cornering (them) is totally wrong."


The Sg Siput parliamentary seat was won by PSM’s Dr Jeyakumar in the last polls with a majority of 1,821 votes after defeating BN candidate, then MIC president Datuk Seri S. Samy Vellu.


The party’s chairman Dr Nasir Hashim won the Kota Damansara state seat with a majority of 1,075 votes against BN’s Zein Isma Ismail.


In Semenyih, Arutchelvan who represented PSM lost to BN’s Johan Abd Aziz with a majority of 1,140 votes.


Arutchelvan said there is also an attempt to make PSM look unreasonable on its request to use its own logo in the upcoming national polls.


Explaining on the matter, Arutchelvan said: “PSM has always stated that if there was a common PR logo, PSM would be willing to use it. This shows that PSM was never fussy on using only its logo but felt that it has the same democratic rights like other parties in PR to use their respective logos.”


He added during a meeting with Anwar on April 13, PSM conceded to use PKR logo in Semenyih, but said that PSM members will find it very difficult to ask Nasir not to use the PSM party logo.


“PSM members have fought for 11 years with the BN government for this logo and they felt that the PR should allow at least the PSM national chairperson to stand on his party flag,” said Arutchelvan.


Previously Arulchelvan had said that while PSM believes that BN is to be defeated, yet this does not give any immunity to any party to bully and manipulate the situation.