Local Politics

Committee formed to review MA63


Syndicated News
Written by Syndicated News

KUALA LUMPUR — Oct. 10, 2018: A committee of 17 has been formed to review and streamline the Malaysia Agreement 1963 (MA63).

Chaired by Prime Minister Tun Dr. Mahathir Mohamad, the others are Sabah Chief Minister Datuk Seri Mohd. Shafie Apdal, Sarawak Chief Minister Datuk Patinggi Abang Johari Tun Openg, Finance Minister Lim Guan Eng, Economic Affairs Minister Datuk Seri Mohamed Azmin Ali, Communication and Multimedia Minister Gobind Singh Deo, Foreign Minister Datuk Saifuddin Abdullah, Works Minister Baru Bian, Minister of International Trade and Industry Darell Leiking, Transport Minister Anthony Loke, Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department Datuk Liew View Keong, Chief Secretary to the Government Datuk Seri Dr. Ismail Bakar, Chief Judge of Sabah and  Sarawak Datuk David Wong, Attorney-General Tommy Thomas, Universiti Malaya law professor Datuk Dr. Shad Saleem Faruqi, Sabah Attorney-General Zaleha Rose Pandin and Sarawak Attorney-General Datuk Talat Mahmood Abdul Rashid.

The committee will have its first meeting in about a month’s time.

Liew, who attended the Law Reform Talk  programme at Universiti Malaya today, said among the issues to be studied regarding MA63 include oil royalty and development in Sabah and Sarawak,

According to Liew, the Cabinet has also agreed to look into abolishing the death penalty.



About the author

Syndicated News

Syndicated News

News sourced from Bernama, Reuters, AFP and other accredited news agencies, including credible blogsites and news portals.