Ariff rejects Mahathir’s motion to retain him as Speaker

Tan Sri Mohamad Ariff Md Yusof

Written by TheMole

KUALA LUMPUR, May 8 2020: Tan Sri Mohamad Ariff Md Yusof has rejected a motion by former prime minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad to retain him as the Dewan Rakyat Speaker.

Ariff had wrote a letter dated May 5 in reply to Dr Mahathir’s proposal saying that the matter would not be allowed when Parliament sits for a day on May 18.

Dr Mahathir had in his letter dated the previous day proposed to move a motion under Standing Order 4 for the Speaker to be retained until Parliament is dissolved.

Ariff in his reply inform Dr Mahathir that the proposed motion should have been filed under Standing Order 27.

“For the information of YABhg Tun, the motion referred to should be put forward and adhere to Standing Order 27.

“In this matter, I have studied the motion proposed by YABhg Tun and found that it was not proposed under Standing Order 27.

“For that reason, I will not allow the motion to be brought to Parliament,” wrote Ariff.

Standing Order 4 refers to the procedure for the election of the Yang di-Pertua while Standing Order 27 dealt with the manner of giving notices.

Dewan Rakyat secretary Riduan Rahmat in a notice to MPs for the one-day sitting on May 18 had stressed that the event was for the official opening of Parliament by the Yang di-Pertuan Agong and no motions would be accepted or raised.



About the author